Costa San Giorgio


The building complex is the fusion of two ancient convents. The first, San Giorgio alla Costa and Spirito Santo, is documented as early as the twelfth century, although its adjoining church was built in the year 1000 then later rebuilt, becoming the first example of rococo style in the Florence area. The second was built in 1382 and dedicated to Saint Girolamo and Saint Francesco. Both convents, along with their respective churches, are built around impressive cloisters and are set in a vast green area which also includes other buildings constructed in later years.

Among the striking features are the frescoes and wall paintings that adorn the various levels of each building. These include a stunning fifteenth-century tabernacle in the style of the Verrocchio school and an impressive lunette by Bicci di Lorenzo which somehow survived the significant structural alterations to the convents over the centuries, including their repurposing as barracks.


The two convents were merged in the nineteenth century when Florence became the capital as part of a reorganisation of various governmental and administrative functions. As a result, the two buildings were unified and used as a military facility for an infantry regiment.


In 1933, the convents were once again repurposed, this time to house the Vittorio Veneto barracks and the Application School of the Sanità Militare, the latter remaining until 1998.